Description: National Resource Management (NRM) Regions 2014
Short Name: nrm2014
Metadata contact organization: ERIN
Organisation role: custodian
Metadata date: 2015-05-05
Reference date: 2014-07-07
Resource constraints:
Licence notes: Access constraints: This data will be made available for download from the Department's website subject to Commonwealth of Australia Copyright and a licence agreement.Limitations of use: This is an administrative dataset developed for the purpose of reporting and public information. The dataset is not a legal boundary dataset and does not represent legal boundaries in any way.
Type: Contextual (polygonal)
Classification: Area Management ⇒ Biodiversity
Data language: eng
Notes: The Natural Resource Management (NRM) Regions dataset is maintained for the purpose of reporting on the Australian Government's NRM investments. The dataset is designed to cover all Australian territory where Australian Government funded NRM projects might take place and includes major islands, external territories, and state and coastal waters in addition to the NRM regional boundaries. This 2014 version marks the change in NSW from Catchment Management Authorities (CMA) to Local Land Service areas which will now be used for NRM regions in NSW. The 2012 version updated and formalised the 2010 dataset (which was an interim update of the NRM Regions 2009 dataset, released Feb 2009). The original base layer version of this dataset was released in 2006 as the Natural Heritage Trust II (NHT2) Region Boundaries dataset. Whilst the boundaries of NRM Regions are defined by legislation in some states and territories this dataset should not be used to represent legal boundaries in any way. It is an administrative dataset developed for the purpose of reporting and public information. It should be noted that from time to time the states and/or territories may revise their regional boundaries in accordance with local needs and therefore alterations to either the attribution or boundaries of the data may occur in the future. Since 2006, NRM regions have been important in the delivery of Australian Government funding initiatives including Caring for our Country, the Natural Heritage Trust, the National Landcare Program, the Environmental Stewardship Program and the Working on Country Indigenous land and sea ranger program. In total, this dataset represents 60 regions as set out below. They comprise 55 mainland regions administered by 54 NRM regional bodies (one region in QLD is jointly administered by two adjacent regional bodies) and seven islands (five administered by the Australian Government as external territories, and two administered by nearby mainland NRM regional bodies).
Keywords: adminisration, government, landcare, heritage, local
More information:
View in spatial portal : Click to view this layer