Description: NRM Regions 2015
Short Name: nrm2015
Metadata contact organization:
Organisation role: custodian
Metadata date: 2015-06-15
Reference date:
Resource constraints:
Licence notes: Data to be available in the Public Domain under Creative Commons by Attribution Licensing Agreement. More information can be found here:
Type: Contextual (polygonal)
Classification: Area Management ⇒ Biodiversity
Data language:
Notes: The Natural Resource Management (NRM) Regions dataset is maintained for the purpose of reporting on the Australian Government's NRM investments. The dataset is designed to cover all Australian territory where Australian Government funded NRM projects might take place and includes major islands, external territories, and state and coastal waters in addition to the NRM regional boundaries. This 2015 version defines the Peel-Harvey NRM region. A boundary for the newly established OceanWatch Australia Limited NRM organisation has not been spatially defined. It has responsibility for enhancing fish habitats and improving water quality in estuaries and coastal marine environments. OceanWatch works with the fishing industry to continue the adoption of industry best harvesting practice and identify issues of common interest for fishers across Australia. The 2015 version maintains the 2014 changes in NSW from Catchment Management Authorities (CMA) to Local Land Service areas. The 2012 version updated and formalised the 2010 dataset (which was an interim update of the NRM Regions 2009 dataset, released Feb 2009). The original base layer version of this dataset was released in 2006 as the Natural Heritage Trust II (NHT2) Region Boundaries dataset. Whilst the boundaries of NRM Regions are defined by legislation in some states and territories this dataset should not be used to represent legal boundaries in any way. It is an administrative dataset developed for the purpose of reporting and public information. It should be noted that from time to time the states and/or territories may revise their regional boundaries in accordance with local needs and therefore alterations to either the attribution or boundaries of the data may occur in the future. Since 2006, NRM regions have been important in the delivery of Australian Government funding initiatives including Caring for our Country, the Natural Heritage Trust, the National Landcare Program, the Environmental Stewardship Program and the Working on Country Indigenous land and sea ranger program. In total, this dataset represents 61 regions as set out below. They comprise 56 mainland regions administered by 55 NRM regional bodies (the Cooperative Management Area in QLD is jointly administered by the two adjacent regional bodies: the Cape York and Northern Gulf NRM bodies) and seven islands (five administered by the Australian Government as external territories, and two administered by nearby mainland NRM regional bodies).
Keywords: adminisration, government, landcare, heritage, local
More information:{60F60282-B651-4B8B-BA4D-ADEF46D42B29}
View in spatial portal : Click to view this layer